final days

I recently put in my two weeks’ notice at work. My last work day will be the 26th. I was filled with dread the morning I wrote my letter and went to work to turn it in. It was painful and uncomfortable. I didn’t sleep much that night and woke up with my heart racing. In a way, I felt like I was breaking up with someone.

After I turned it in, I was so relieved. It wasn’t nearly as hard as I thought it would be. It wasn’t painful either.

As time has gone on though, staying through has been harder and harder. Our relationship has been strained for a long time now and it seems to be getting worse as time slows and my final day approaches.

I want to leave. So very much. I want to be done. Yet, something inside me still cares. I care about my customers, I care about my co-workers, I don’t want to leave them stranded. I don’t want to see them hurting, struggling, or disappointed.

Yet, at the same time I’ve had trouble letting go of my job. I know I need to, but I only know how to give 100% when I work. Anything less, and I feel like I’m cheating the company.

I have enjoyed my job and what I’ve learned, but some of the people I work with have become too much for me to deal with. I come home bitter and upset. If not for these people, I would love what I do.

People have so much power and influence. They can create and destroy life. I strongly believe businesses should invest into their employees and create a fun and unique work environment where employees are pushed out of their comfort zones and constantly growing. Ultimately, I believe if your employees aren’t happy, your clients won’t be happy either. Create a great working environment where the employees are treated well, given what they deserve, and a desire to perform well is cultivated, quality will improve and your clients will be able to see (and taste) the difference. Don’t stifle your employees, listen to them, respect them, and train them.

The stifling work environment has become too much for me to deal with. My energy is better spent on homework, packing the house, and spending time with friends and family before departing on a new adventure. I’m excited to see what the future hold, but and grateful for the experiences I’ve had and the people I’ve met.

One thought on “final days

  1. Claudia Daniel April 22, 2012 / 1:02 pm

    Well said Janna and I’m so proud of your marvelous outlook! Love you, Claudia

Leave a Reply

