my sun rays

I’ve had the most peaceful and fulfilling week. My mounds of homework has been reduced to a small, manageable pile. My level of stress is almost 0.

Friends are incredible. I don’t know how I ended up with such amazing ones, but I am so thankful for them and frankly, I don’t care how I got them. Friends are incredible by their nature and definition – people who are willing to spend time with me, invest in me, put up with my emotional and childishness behavior, encourage me, guide me, tell me when I’m wrong. . . they let their guard down and allow me into their lives. They make themselves vulnerable to me. They don’t give up on me.

Friends aren’t the core of my existence, but they definitely make up my safety net and enable me to continue my journey without any major scars. It’s the nature of life that there are ups and downs. Sometimes my downs are incredibly grey and stormy, sometimes lasting for months and months. Friends are like the sun rays that fight their way through the clouds during those times – warm and refreshing, a wave of strength and hope. They remind me that it’s not always going to be this way. They give me a glimpse of the light at the end of the tunnel.

We’ll get through this, but not alone.

Leave a Reply

