the bubble

The bubble, the rut. We’ve all heard the terms before.

I’ve gotten too comfortable. I’ve never wanted to be a person who does the same things over and over again. I’ve always wanted to be the spontaneous, try-it-all person. I want to be the person who will go anywhere, talk with anyone, eat anything, and accept everyone. The truth is, I’m far from that person. I don’t know how, but I suddenly find myself living a comfortable life, doing the same things over and over.

Maybe I’m just wishful. I don’t think so. I think I could be that person I want to be, that I should be. I just need to pop my bubble. I’m under confident and afraid of failing. I’m afraid of being rejected and hurt. I’m also lazy.

That’s really what it amounts to. I know I can be that person. I also know I can’t become that person overnight. I know it’s going to take work. Ay, there’s the rub; I don’t want to work. I don’t want to experience the uncomfortable growing pains and the soreness from using muscles (emotional or physical) that I haven’t used before. I just want to magically wake up that person.

But where’s the fun in that? There’s joy to be found amidst failure. It creates a real person, a humble person, a relatable person. I long to identify with someone. It all starts with baby steps and small goals in anticipation of a bigger future.

I don’t know how long I’ll be on this path, but I think I’m ready to walk it.

One thought on “the bubble

  1. Somesh Mahanty January 28, 2012 / 11:32 am

    “That’s really what it amounts to. I know I can be that person. I also know I can’t become that person overnight. I know it’s going to take work. Ay, there’s the rub; I don’t want to work. I don’t want to experience the uncomfortable growing pains and the soreness from using muscles (emotional or physical) that I haven’t used before. I just want to magically wake up that person.”

    I can fully relate myself to this part.. nice post!

Leave a Reply

