goals

So far I’ve been achieving my fitness goals that I set in August – you know, they “I’m going to get in shape for real this time!”

I think my problem before was my goals were too vague and nonspecific.

This time, I just gave up my laziness and said, “I’m really going to do this – no excuses.” Then I set goals – to exercise frequently, to run 1 mile without stopping by the end of August, 2 miles by the end of September, 3 miles by the end of October, and run the 5k in November. Very manageable goals, even though at the beginning of August Jesse and I couldn’t even run 1/2 a mile. I blame it on Siloam Springs being so hot and humid.

With the exception of this week (and probably next week), Jesse and I have been exercising 3-5 times a week. We were running further than a mile by the end of August, and today we got up to 2 miles (yes, the last day of September still counts!). I’m excited. Some things are worth it. ๐Ÿ™‚

Other goals were unsuccesful, but again, those were nonspecific. Maybe I’ve figured out something that works for me. I’m learning self discipline and it’s been good. ๐Ÿ™‚

 

Leave a Reply

